Tuesday, June 20, 2017

“DESPICABLE ME 3” OPENS AT NO.1, GROSSES P93.6M, the Biggest Opening Weekend for an animated title in 2017

Press release

MANILA, June 19, 2017 – Universal Pictures and Illumination's new comedy adventure Despicable Me 3 ran off with a nationwide box-office haul of P93.6-M to open a No.1 and grab the biggest opening weekend for an animated title in 2017.
Photo credit: UIP

Bowing two weeks earlier in the Philippines ahead of the US, Despicable Me 3 proved to be a worthy successor to its previous two blockbuster installments, reinforcing its formidable brand as a family franchise. Its successful launch in PH is the biggest in the region, grossing more than in Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand.

Getting the lion's share of box-office grosses are SM Mall of Asia, Trinoma and SM Megamall.

In fourth to tenth rankings are SM North Edsa, Glorietta IV, Powerplant, Greenbelt III, Alabang Town Center, Fairview Terraces and SM Southmall.

Rounding up the top 20 (11th to 20th) are SM Baguio, SM Dasmarinas, Robinsons Magnolia, Fisher Mall, SM Marikina, SM Fairview, Eastwood, SM Clark, Shang Cineplex and Bonifacio High Street.

Illumination Entertainment continues the story of Gru, Lucy, their adorable daughters—Margo, Edith and Agnes—and the Minions in Despicable Me 3.

After he is fired from the Anti-Villain League for failing to take down the latest bad guy to threaten humanity, Gru finds himself in the midst of a major identity crisis. But when a mysterious stranger shows up to inform Gru that he has a long-lost twin brother—a brother who desperately wishes to follow in his twin’s despicable footsteps—one former super-villain will rediscover just how good it feels to be bad.

Now playing across the Philippines, Despicable Me 3 is distributed by United International Pictures through Columbia Pictures.

Monday, June 19, 2017

MIDNIGHT SCREENINGS FOR “TRANSFORMERS: THE LAST KNIGHT” JUNE 21 AT 12:01AM

Press release

MANILA, June 19, 2017 – The species war between flesh and metal begins earlier for Filipino fans as United International Pictures (UIP) has announced that Transformers: The Last Knight, will have special midnight screenings in participating cinemas nationwide on Wednesday, June 21 at 12:01 AM.


The public is advised to reserve and buy their tickets now to be among the first in the world to watch Michael Bay'sTransformers: The Last Knight, the fifth installment in the hugely successful franchise.

In Metro Manila, midnight screenings are confirmed to be held in Alabang Town Center, Greenbelt 3, Bonifacio High Street, Trinoma, Glorietta 4, Eastwood, Fisher Mall, Newport, Venice Cineplex, Uptown Cineplex, Starmall Edsa, Metropolis Alabang, Vista Taguig, Vista Evia Cinema, SM Aura, SM BF, SM Clark, SM Fairview, SM Mall of Asia, S'Maison, SM Megamall, SM North Edsa and SM Southmall.

Moviegoers in the provinces may watch at Starmall San Jose, Vista Sta. Rosa, Vista Bataan, Vista Pampangga, SM Baguio and SM Cebu.

For the updated list, fans may check with their favorite cinemas.

The Last Knight shatters the core myths of the Transformers franchise, and redefines what it means to be a hero. Humans and Transformers are at war, Optimus Prime is gone. The key to saving our future lies buried in the secrets of the past, in the hidden history of Transformers on Earth. Saving our world falls upon the shoulders of an unlikely alliance: Cade Yeager (Mark Wahlberg); Bumblebee; an English Lord (Sir Anthony Hopkins); and an Oxford Professor (Laura Haddock).

There comes a moment in everyone’s life when we are called upon to make a difference. In Transformers: The Last Knight, the hunted will become heroes. Heroes will become villains. Only one world will survive: theirs, or ours.

The film also stars Josh Duhamel, Isabella Moner, Stanley Tucci and John Turturro.

Transformers: The Last Knight is distributed by United International Pictures through Columbia Pictures.

Friday, June 2, 2017

“BABY DRIVER” LAUNCHES ITS `TEKILLYAH' TRAILER





Press release

The latest trailer for Columbia Pictures’ Baby Driver, the much anticipated action comedy from acclaimed director Edgar Wright.
Photo credit: Columbia Pictures

Dubbed as `TeKillYah' – which references the infectious song – the trailer exploits the rave, critical acclaim thatBaby Driver has garnered since its premiere in festivals several months back.

The film stars Ansel Elgort as Baby, a getaway driver who suffers from a hearing impairment that requires him to listen to music in order to drown out the humming noise.

In the film, a talented, young getaway driver (Ansel Elgort) relies on the beat of his personal soundtrack to be the best in the game. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Lily James), Baby sees a chance to ditch his criminal life and make a clean getaway. But after being coerced into working for a crime boss (Kevin Spacey), he must face the music when a doomed heist threatens his life, love and freedom.

Written and directed by Edgar Wright, Baby Driver stars Ansel Elgort, Kevin Spacey, Lily James, Jon Bernthal, Eiza González with Jon Hamm and Jamie Foxx.

Opening in Philippine cinemas in August 2, 2017, Baby Driver is distributed by Columbia Pictures, local office of Sony Pictures Releasing International.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

AMANDLA STERNBERG IN “EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING”

Press release

She first gained recognition for her role as Rue in “The Hunger Games,” alongside Jennifer Lawrence, Liam Hemsworth and Josh Hutcherson. Now, teen star Amandla Sternberg stars as Maddy in in Warner Bros. Pictures' new romantic drama Everything, Everything (in Philippine cinemas June 21, 2017).
Photo credits: Warner Bros.

Based on the bestselling book of the same name by Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything tells the unlikely love story of Maddy (Sternberg), a smart, curious and imaginative 18-year-old who due to an illness cannot leave the protection of the hermetically sealed environment within her house, and Olly (Nick Robinson), the boy next door who won’t let that stop them. Gazing through windows and talking only through texts, Maddy and Olly form a deep bond that leads them to risk everything to be together…even if it means losing everything.

Amandla Stenberg is huge fan of the book and the script—adding, “I was immediately drawn to the whimsy and the quirkiness of the story and the real life, tangible emotional aspects of it that I could connect to, especially as a teenager. I also loved that this beautiful and meaningful teen romance movie involved seeing an interracial couple in a completely subliminal way.”

Producer Elysa Dutton notes, “I think this urgency for love really resonates for people, especially at the age these characters are. First love is so exciting, and for Maddy, she’s missed a lot of firsts so she’s not going to miss this. Even though she knows this is potentially a life-threatening decision, there’s no choice for her but to take this risk, to really live.”

Both Sternberg and Robinson enjoyed the process of exploring this unusual and often awkward first love relationship—finding the normalcy within its inherent irregularities.

I had never met Amandla before this film but I’d heard only great things, so I was really excited to work with her,” Robinson recalls. “She’s just a really cool person and I had a great time getting to know her.”

Both Amandla and Nick were fantastic,” director Stella Meghie states. “Amandla is just angelic,” she continues. “Like Maddy, she’s intelligent and mature, and also romantic, and she definitely brought those sensibilities to the character. My main goal was to make sure that people would believe these two characters fall in love, and Amandla and Nick really clicked from the start. Their chemistry was just so natural and I think that shows in the film.”

Everything, Everything distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company, and in select international territories by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

“WONDER WOMAN'S” GAL GADOT GREETS FANS FROM PHILIPPINES





Earlier, I posted about this in my geek blog http://marktemplar.blogspot.com/2017/05/gal-gadot-invites-pinoys-to-watch.html before I even got this press release with photo from that video.



Official press release

Warner Bros. Pictures has released a short video of Gal Gadot greeting her Filipino fans as she invited them to watch her film, “Wonder Woman” in Philippine cinemas June 1, 2017.

Mabuhay, Philippines!,” starts the Israeli actress in the video.

I'm Gal Gadot and I play Wonder Woman in the first-ever live-action `Wonder Woman' movie,” she continues. “From the gorgeous island paradise of Themyscira, to the World War I Europe, the film is full of action and adventure, as an Amazon warrior learns what it takes to become one of the greatest super heroes of all time.”

She concludes, “Don't miss Warner Woman in cinemas this June.”

Joining Gadot in the international cast are Chris Pine, Robin Wright, Danny Huston, David Thewlis, Connie Nielsen, Elena Anaya, Ewen Bremner, Lucy Davis, Lisa Loven Kongsli, Eugene Brave Rock and Saïd Taghmaoui.

Before she was Wonder Woman, she was Diana, princess of the Amazons, raised on a sheltered island paradise and trained to be an unconquerable warrior. When an American pilot crashes on their shores and tells of a massive conflict raging in the outside world, Diana leaves her home, convinced she can stop the threat. Fighting alongside man in a war to end all wars, Diana will discover her full powers…and her true destiny.

Patty Jenkins directed the film from a screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, based on characters from DC. Wonder Woman was created by William Moulton Marston.

The film was produced by Charles Roven, Deborah Snyder, Zack Snyder and Richard Suckle, with Stephen Jones, Geoff Johns, Jon Berg, Wesley Coller and Rebecca Steel Roven serving as executive producers.

Wonder Woman” is distributed in 3D and 2D in select theaters and IMAX worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

ZAC EFRON AS MATT BRODY IN “BAYWATCH”

Press release

ZAC EFRON CHANNELS RYAN LOCHTE IN THE NEW SEX COMEDY “BAYWATCH”

Nurturing an impressive body of work that encompasses both film and television, Zac Efron has proven to be one of Hollywood’s most sought-after talents.
Photo credits: UIP

This season, Efron co-stars opposite Dwayne Johnson in Paramount Pictures' Baywatch, the highly-anticipated comedy based off the popular '90s TV show.

In Philippine cinemas starting May 31Baywatch follows devoted lifeguard Mitch Buchannon (Johnson) as he butts heads with Matt Brody (Efron), a brash new recruit. Together, they uncover a local criminal plot that threatens the future of the Bay.

From the beginning, Baywatch had been envisioned as a buddy comedy, and the producers knew they’d need an actor who could hold his own against Johnson’s larger than life on-screen alter ego. They found a perfect foil in Efron, who is quickly becoming a go-to actor for ‘R’ rated comedies, having recently added Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates (2016) and Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising (2016) to his already impressive resume.

I wasn’t allowed to watch Baywatch growing up,” Efron laments. “But I do remember sneaking it, late at night, after Howard Stern on a crappy old TV with a dial. One time, I was channel flipping and came across this awesome show full of boats and explosions and I just thought the whole thing was amazing. When the show was over, I realized it was Baywatch, and I was like, ‘Holy cow. That was amazing.’”

Zac’s incredibly handsome, charming and funny,” Johnson says of his co-star. “He’s got this great boyish quality at times, and I love him like a brother. He’s one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet, so it’s that much more fun to have him play a cocky asshole and mix it up with him.”

Efron plays Matt Brody, a bad boy Olympic swimmer and two time gold medalist who arrives in Emerald Bay expecting a spot on Mitch’s highly competitive, handpicked Baywatch team.

Brody throws a wrench in things,” Johnson explains. “We’ve got this team that’s gelling, but he’s this hotshot coming off the Olympics, who thinks he can just join the team without being trained properly.”

At the Olympics, Brody won his solo events, but messed up the team relay because he got drunk the night before,” says Efron. “He did some illegal stuff, and joining Baywatch is part of his parole.”

We drew some inspiration from Ryan Lochte in our approach to Brody, which Zac responded to immediately,” director Seth Gordon recalls. “The character was written before the real Lochte got himself into trouble, which ended up being unexpectedly prescient.”

The world has had to live without Baywatch for such a long time, so I couldn’t be more excited to be bringing it back,” says Efron enthusiastically. “We’re building on one of the greatest TV shows of all time, and Dwayne, Ilfenesh, Jon, Alexandra, Kelly and Priyanka are all so amazing and talented. It’s going to be hilarious and action-packed. I’m really stoked about it.”

Baywatch is distributed in the Philippines by United International Pictures through Columbia Pictures.

Friday, May 19, 2017

THE HOUSE Official Red Band Trailer





Warner Bros. just released their official red band trailer of The House. This trailer is really crazy. Crazy that I still wonder where did that much blood come from. Here's the previous press release I published months ago.



Press release







New Line Cinema's upcoming comedy The House teams up Will Ferrell and Amy Poehler as married couple Scott and Kate Johansen who, after losing their daughter Alex’s college fund, become desperate to earn it back so she can pursue her dream of attending a university.


With the help of their neighbor Frank (Jason Mantzoukas), they decide to start an illegal casino in the basement of his house.

The House also stars Nick Kroll (Vacation), Allison Tolman (TV’s Fargo), Michaela Watkins (TV’s Transparent), Ryan Simpkins (Arcadia), Jessie Ennis (TV’s Better Call Saul), Rob Huebel (Horrible Bosses 2), Cedric Yarbrough (TV’s Reno 911!) and Oscar nominee Jeremy Renner (Arrival).

Andrew Jay Cohen makes his feature film directorial debut with The House. The script was written by Brendan O’Brien and Cohen, whose previous collaborations include the hit comedies Neighbors and Neighbors 2: SororityRisingThe House is produced by Nathan Kahane, Joe Drake, Brendan O’Brien, Andrew Jay Cohen, Jessica Elbaum, Will Ferrell and Adam McKay. The executive producers are Marc S. Fischer, Chris Henchy, Spencer Wong, Toby Emmerich, Richard Brener, Michael Disco, and Bruce Berman.

The creative filmmaking team includes director of photography Jas Shelton (Keanu), production designer Clayton Hartley (We’re the Millers), editors Evan Henke (The Interview) and Mike Sale (Central Intelligence), and costume designer Christopher Oroza (Hollywood Adventures). Music is by Andrew Feltenstein and John Nau.

A New Line Cinema presentation, in association with Village Roadshow Pictures, a Gary Sanchez/Good Universe Production, The House will be distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company, and in select territories by Village Roadshow Pictures.

Watch The House in Philippine cinemas starting August 23, 2017.