Friday, February 2, 2018

Dakota Johnson in 50 Shades Freed

Press release

UNITED INTERNATIONAL PICTURES

FIFTY SHADES FREED” - DAKOTA JOHNSON WILL SEE YOU NOW

She has become one of Hollywood’s fastest-rising stars, playing the coveted role of Anastasia Steele in the feature adaptations of E L James’ novels and worldwide phenomenon Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker. Now, Dakota Johnson reprises her role as Ana in Universal Pictures' explosive romantic thriller Fifty Shades Freed (in Philippine cinemas February 7).

In the film, believing they have left behind shadowy figures from their past, newlyweds Christian (Jamie Dornan) and Ana fully embrace an inextricable connection and shared life of luxury. But just as she steps into her role as Mrs. Grey and he relaxes into an unfamiliar stability, new threats could jeopardize their happy ending before it even begins.

For her third time as Anastasia Steele, Johnson dove headfirst into Ana’s challenging world and emboldened sense of self. She updates us with where the characters are: “In Freed, there’s more suspense, more of a thriller aspect, with additional characters and more action—all of that is intertwined with the love story. A love story that has evolved and deepened. Anastasia and Christian are married, and Anastasia has received a promotion, raising the intensity of both her private and professional life.”

She agrees with E L James and screenwriter Niall Leonard, though, when she states: “This is an epic love story but we do our best to keep it grounded and relatable. It’s one of those inexplicable connections between two people that is completely undeniable. Throughout these stories, you find the protagonists faced with situations that require one or both of them to bend their wills and adapt to their version of love.”

When it came to working with Johnson and Dornan, director James Foley takes a moment to reflect on the work they have put into the series. “Jamie and Dakota have the kind of instinctual connection to their characters that actors who are really good in their parts find. At this point, they are referencing something that they know; they’re not making believe. Somehow, Dakota plugged into the psychology and the emotion of Ana, and Jamie relaxes even further into the role; in Freed, you see him find Christian Grey in himself.”

Fifty Shades Freed is distributed by United International Pictures through Columbia Pictures.

Thursday, February 1, 2018

TIMOTHEE CHALAMET IN “CALL ME BY YOUR NAME”

Press release

C O L U M B I A  P I C T U R E S

TIMOTHEE CHALAMET, IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE IN “CALL ME BY YOUR NAME”


At 22, Timothée Chalamet becomes the youngest Oscar Best Actor nominee in 74 years, and he gets this distinction for his performance in Sony Pictures Classic's heartwrenching love story, Call Me By Your Name.
Photo credit: Columbia Pictures

Directed by Luca Guadagnino, the film is the heady awakening of a 17-year old young man’s first passion. When Elio (Chalamet) falls for Oliver (Armie Hammer), the charismatic 24 year-old graduate student staying at his parents’ villa in northern Italy, it sets in motion an experience that will linger with both of them forever.

A large percentage of the story focuses on the myriad steps forward and backward between Elio and Oliver before their relationship finally becomes physical. Stressing anticipation through an unhurried buildup is common in Guadagnino’s films. Says Chalamet: “It’s the universally relatable game of cat and mouse and push and pull that occurs between people that are attracted to one another but have suspicions and insecurities about whether the other holds the same level of attraction. They also have trepidations because they aren’t in a time period or a location that is accepting or encouraging of them having an intimate relationship.”

While his films are praised for their eroticism, Guadagnino doesn’t depict sexuality gratuitously. Says Chalamet: “When you first see Elio and Oliver kiss, and the first time they really make love, the shots play out for awhile. You see the awkwardness and the physical tension in a way where, if there were a million cuts, would be lost.”

Rated R-16 With No Cuts by the MTRCB, Call Me By Your Name, is a sensual and transcendent tale of first love, based on the acclaimed novel by André Aciman.

It’s the summer of 1983 in the north of Italy, and Elio Perlman (Timothee Chalamet), a precocious 17- year-old young man, spends his days in his family’s 17th century villa transcribing and playing classical music, reading, and flirting with his friend Marzia (Esther Garrel).

Elio enjoys a close relationship with his father (Michael Stuhlbarg), an eminent professor specializing in Greco-Roman culture, and his mother Annella (Amira Casar), a translator, who favor him with the fruits of high culture in a setting that overflows with natural delights. While Elio’s sophistication and intellectual gifts suggest he is already a fully-fledged adult, there is much that yet remains innocent and unformed about him, particularly about matters of the heart.

One day, Oliver (Armie Hammer), a 24 year-old American college graduate student working on his doctorate, arrives as the annual summer intern tasked with helping Elio’s father. Amid the sun-drenched splendor of the setting, Elio and Oliver discover the heady beauty of awakening desire over the course of a summer that will alter their lives forever.

Now showing exclusively at Ayala Malls Cinemas, Call Me By Your Name is distributed by Columbia Pictures, local office of Sony Pictures Releasing International.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Cine Lokal Celebrates All Kinds of Love in February

Press release

Love in all its forms is worth celebrating, from loving one’s self to young and hopeful, and familial. 

This February, Cine Lokal features a set of incredible films exploring this concepts which are all set to screen in eight (8) SM Cinemas.

Included in the lineup is a 2016 Sinag Maynila suspense thriller film “Lila” directed by Gino M. Santos starring Janine Gutierrez, Sherry Lara and Enchong Dee. The film is about a woman who tries to escape a past that haunts her and moves into the house of a warmhearted landlady, seeking atonement and a fresh start -- the house, however, has other ideas.

This is followed by the romantic drama film “4 Days” directed by Adolf Alix Jr. starring Sebastian Castro and Mikoy Morales. 

4 Days tells the story of two college friends who slowly realize they mean more to each other than either had initially realized. 4 Days joins Derek and Mark in the days leading up to Valentine’s Day over the course of a few years- charting the blossoming of a friendship in to something much more enduring as time goes on - and challenging both to question who they thought they were and who they truly want to me. Painting a moving picture of how an abiding friendship can sometimes lead to love - and how we sometimes have to wrestle with our own demons to find their true self, 4 Days is achingly romantic and delicate.

Completing the list of February films is the 2nd ToFarm Film Festival’s 2nd Best Picture drama film “What Home Feels Like” directed by Joseph Abello which won the Best Actor and Actress awards for Bembol Roco and Irma Adlawan,  together with Rex Lantano and Bianca Libinting. It tells the home life of father and seaman, Antonio, who is forced to spend most of time at home upon learning that he can never aboard a ship again. Facing struggles as he doesn’t know what to do next, he follows the footsteps of his parents and buys a farm using their family savings.

Catch these films at these dates and time at SM Manila, SM Sta. Mesa, SM Mall of Asia, SM Megamall, SM North Edsa, SM Fairview, SM Southmall and SM Bacoor:

Sunday, January 28, 2018

FDCP TO HOLD ANNUAL FILM AMBASSADORS' NIGHT

Press release

In honor and recognition of Filipino films and filmmakers who made waves internationally, the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) is hosting this year's FDCP Film Ambassadors’ Night on February 9, 2018 at Sampaguita Gardens, New Manila, Quezon City.

"Our Film Ambassadors' Night is the best way to start the year. It's a special night which celebrates the triumphs of our Filipino filmmakers, especially those who brought honor to our country by winning awards various international film festivals last 2017. This is our small way of showing our appreciation for their passion and hard work," said Chairperson and CEO Liza Liza Dino.

More than eighty (80) filmmakers, actors, and production will be recognized by the FDCP for their wins from last year alone, falling under the creative, technical and performance categories.

FDCP hopes that the event will also be an opportunity for filmmakers and industry movers of different backgrounds will come together to strengthen the collaboration among the creative industries.

Aside from the long list of citations, FDCP will also name the A-listers and the Camera Obscura awardees, the highest Artistic Excellence Award given by the Agency for outstanding filmmakers from last year.

The full list of Film Ambassadors will be announced on January 30.

Thursday, January 25, 2018

“CALL ME BY YOUR NAME” VIES FOR OSCAR BEST PICTURE, ACTOR, SCREENPLAY

Press release

MANILA, Jan. 25, 2018 – Sony Pictures Classics' heartbreaking love story Call Me By Your Name received four major Academy Award nominations Tuesday night, a week before it opens in the Philippines, exclusively in Ayala Malls Cinemas, on Januay 31.
Photo credit: Columbia Pictures

The critically acclaimed romantic drama is vying for Best Picture, Best Actor in a Leading Role (Timothee Chalamet), Best Adapted Screenplay (James Ivory) and Best Original Song - “Mystery of Love” – Music & Lyrics by Sufjan Stevens (http://youtu.be/KQT32vW61eI).

"Wow, what an incredible morning. I'm a bit in shock. ... I am in awe of the pedigree of the Academy. I am truly honored,” Chalamet said in a statement.

The 22-year-old became the youngest Best Actor nominee in almost 80 years.

The feeling of gratitude I have at the moment has less to do with individual achievement and more with the appreciation for the artists past honored in this category and all of the nominees of this year,” he continues. “Without Luca Guadagnino’s true mastery and vision, and without Armie Hammer’s trust and guidance, without the public arts funding that made my high school education at LaGuardia possible, I wouldn’t be in this position.

Rated R-16 With No Cuts by the MTRCB, Call Me By Your Name, is a sensual and transcendent tale of first love, based on the acclaimed novel by André Aciman.

It’s the summer of 1983 in the north of Italy, and Elio Perlman (Chalamet), a precocious 17- year-old young man, spends his days in his family’s 17th century villa transcribing and playing classical music, reading, and flirting with his friend Marzia (Esther Garrel).

Elio enjoys a close relationship with his father (Michael Stuhlbarg), an eminent professor specializing in Greco-Roman culture, and his mother Annella (Amira Casar), a translator, who favor him with the fruits of high culture in a setting that overflows with natural delights. While Elio’s sophistication and intellectual gifts suggest he is already a fully-fledged adult, there is much that yet remains innocent and unformed about him, particularly about matters of the heart.

One day, Oliver (Hammer), a 24 year-old American college graduate student working on his doctorate, arrives as the annual summer intern tasked with helping Elio’s father. Amid the sun-drenched splendor of the setting, Elio and Oliver discover the heady beauty of awakening desire over the course of a summer that will alter their lives forever.

Opening exclusively at Ayala Malls Cinemas starting January 31, Call Me By Your Name is distributed by Columbia Pictures, local office of Sony Pictures Releasing International.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Cine Lokal takes you to the future with Instalado

Press release

The future of intelligence and thought takes center stage with Instalado which screens in Cine Lokal starting onJanuary 26


From Director Jason Paul Laxamana, the sci-fi film is an intriguing exploration of the worth of thoughts and learning. This is topbilled by Kapamilya heartthrob and Hashtag member, McCoy De Leon on his first ever leading role together with Junjun Quintana, Barbara Miguel and Francis Magundayao.

The movie tells the story of Viktor who lives in a time when the dominant form of education is through installation, a process wherein bodies of knowledge can be installed directly on people’s brains using technology owned by big corporation. 

Instalado was also a 2017 entry at the second ToFarm Film Festival and won six (6) awards, including Best Supporting Actor and Actress.

Catch Instalado as it opens in the following cinemas this January 26: SM Mall of Asia, Megamall, North Edsa, Fairview, Southmall, Bacoor, Sta. Mesa and Bacoor at 1:00pm3:30pm6:00pm and 8:30pm.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

CALL ME BY YOUR NAME” TO SEDUCE AUDIENCES IN SNEAK PREVIEWS

Press release

CALL ME BY YOUR NAME” TO SEDUCE AUDIENCES JAN 22 & 23 IN SNEAK PREVIEWS


MANILA, Jan. 17, 2018 – Sony Pictures Classics' Call Me By Your Name, hailed as the Best Picture of 2017 by the L.A. Film Critics, and likely to garner major Oscar nominations next week, will hold special sneak previews exclusively at Ayala Malls Cinemas on Monday and Tuesday, Jan. 22 & 23.
Photo credit: Columbia Pictures

Rated R-16 With No Cuts by the MTRCB, the coming-of-age drama stars Armie Hammer and Timothee Chalamet (New York Film Critics Best Actor winner for his role) as two men who share a special kind of friendship.

The participating Ayala Malls are Glorietta 4, Greenbelt 3, Alabang Town Center, Trinoma, Harbor Point, Ayala Malls Legaspi, Ayala Center Cebu, Abreeza and Centrio. Fans may visit www.sureseats.com for screening schedules and advance ticket sales.

Call Me By Your Name, the new film by Luca Guadagnino, is a sensual and transcendent tale of first love, based on the acclaimed novel by André Aciman.

It’s the summer of 1983 in the north of Italy, and Elio Perlman (Chalamet), a precocious 17- year-old young man, spends his days in his family’s 17th century villa transcribing and playing classical music, reading, and flirting with his friend Marzia (Esther Garrel).

Elio enjoys a close relationship with his father (Michael Stuhlbarg), an eminent professor specializing in Greco-Roman culture, and his mother Annella (Amira Casar), a translator, who favor him with the fruits of high culture in a setting that overflows with natural delights. While Elio’s sophistication and intellectual gifts suggest he is already a fully-fledged adult, there is much that yet remains innocent and unformed about him, particularly about matters of the heart.

One day, Oliver (Hammer), a 24 year-old American college graduate student working on his doctorate, arrives as the annual summer intern tasked with helping Elio’s father. Amid the sun-drenched splendor of the setting, Elio and Oliver discover the heady beauty of awakening desire over the course of a summer that will alter their lives forever.

Call Me By Your Name is distributed by Columbia Pictures, local office of Sony Pictures Releasing International.